Donate

HF238/239 – Turning Guardians Into Felons

In the coming days, GOCRA will give you summaries of each of the bills that will be heard at the hearings THIS week. Please take time to look at the dangerous implications of these bills, and contact the members of the House Public Safety Finance and Policy, and your own representatives.


HF0238HF0239 Rep. Davnie

Short Description
HF238 – Offenders who unlawfully possess firearms on school properties equal penalties established.
HF239 – Persons who possess guns on private property after being ordered to leave the premises equal penalties established.

GOCRA Analysis

These bills needlessly and pointlessly attack the rights of Permit to Carry holders in Minnesota and implements confiscation of firearms.

TURN GUARDIANS INTO FELONS

HF238 needlessly removes the protection that legal MN Carry Permit from felony charges from harmlessly having a firearm present on school property, a licensed daycare, or in a facility being used by a school.

Currently, 609.66 protects permit holders who have a gun in their vehicle, or on their person while on school property, or on property being used by a school.

If this bill becomes law, and you accidentally walk on a path in a park that is considered “school property”, go into a day care, or walk into the wrong rink during a school hockey tournament, you will become a felon, and lose your firearm.

TURN LAW ABIDING CITIZENS INTO CRIMINALS

As any MN Carry Permit holder knows, If you are asked to leave a private establishment for carrying, you must leave, or face a petty misdemeanor charge.

If HF239 becomes law, not only can you now be charged with a gross misdemeanor for the charge, they want to confiscate your firearm for the “trespass”.

If you “trespass” again, you’re a felon.

Many establishments have non-compliant signage, and do not understand their duty to demand compliance with their policy. The language in this bill is so loose, that waiting to speak to a manager, or owner about the policy before leaving could result in a gross misdemeanor charge, and the loss of your firearm.
There have been no problems reported over the past 10 years.

Criminals do not obey gun-free zones. There is no reason to criminalize and confiscate the property of legal carry permit holders who are not posing any threat or danger to the public.


We need you to get involved. Contact the members of the committee below, and show up on the 5th, 6th, and 7th. Make it clear that law-abiding citizens will not stand for assaults on our rights, and legislation that will do nothing to prevent criminals from getting firearms.


House Public Safety Committee:

Representative Michael Paymar (DFL) – Chairman

651-296-4199

E-mail: rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL) Vice Chairman

651-296-7803

E-mail: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

Representative Tony Cornish (R) – Republican Lead

651-296-4240

E-mail: rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

651-296-3709

E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

Representative Brian Johnson (R)

651-296-4346

E-mail: rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

Representative Tim Kelly (R)

651-296-8635

E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

Representative Andrea Kieffer (R)

651-296-1147

E-mail: rep.andrea.kieffer@house.mn

Representative John Lesch (DFL)

651-296-4224

E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R)

651-296-4244

E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Representative Joe Mullery (DFL)

651-296-4262

E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

Representative Jim Newberger (R)

651-296-2451

E-mail: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Representative Shannon Savick (DFL)

651-296-8216

E-mail: rep.shannon.savick@house.mn

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL)

651-296-4342

E-mail: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

Representative Steve Simon (DFL)

651-296-9889

E-mail: rep.steve.simon@house.mn

Representative Erik Simonson (DFL)

651-296-4246

E-mail: rep.erik.simonson@house.mn

Representative Linda Slocum (DFL)

651-296-7158

E-mail: rep.linda.slocum@house.mn

Representative Mark Uglem (R)

651-296-5513

E-mail: rep.mark.uglem@house.mn

Representative John Ward (DFL)

651-296-4333

E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

Please spread the word:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • PDF
  • Posterous
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tipd
  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
  • Reddit

3 comments to HF238/239 – Turning Guardians Into Felons

  • John

    It would be quite interesting to know how many of the “representatives” listed are licensed permit holders.

  • Wayne Blechinger

    Please reconsider adding more laws to the 9000 that are already on the books that will do nothing to stop mass murders like we have been seeing. Please focus on Mental health and stiffer jail time for people that use a gun in a crime. Mandatory sentences of a minimum of 10 years and keep them in jail. This will send a message that using a gun you go away. For those that will cause harm regardless of these laws, you need to have stop the gun free zones and allow people to carry so we have a better chance to protect our selfs and others. The stand your ground and Cassel Doctrine needs to be passed so law abiding citizens can protect themselves and others without the fear of getting sued for trying to do the greater good.

    Please reconsider

    Best Regards

    Wayne Robert Blechinger

  • Richard and Janice Watrin

    Dear committee members

    We are law-abiding citizens and will not stand for assaults on our permit to carry rights and legislation that will do nothing to prevent criminals from having firearms.